HWBOT Community Forums

Single Stage dead??

Guest TheMadDutchDude

Did you happen to turn it off and back on within a short period of time or did it just stop and you've not turned it on again since?

I made the mistake of turning it on too soon after I turned it off and the fuse popped which is meant to happen. Maybe your fuse went, so check that first. :)

No mate it was running whilst i was switching a gpu out, like the compressor part stopped and the fan was still going. It was quiet for a change!!

I would of thought its pretty old now?? So something was bound to let go

If i connect mm on ohm setting to capacitor it drops to 0 and then starts to rise and keeps going??

Edited by nickolp1974

Guest TheMadDutchDude

I'm no electronics engineer but that doesn't sound right to me. Perhaps it has lost its charging ability.

Oh, I know, that rotary is ****ing loud. It performs like a beast though. :D

Hopefully someone else can help you here.

Guest TheMadDutchDude

I think that one is 1hp too, but I don't remember. There should be a sticker on there somewhere if memory serves, but I could be mistaken.

Of course you can post links on here. :D

Guest TheMadDutchDude

Oh my, now you're asking! LOL. :D

It's within the electrics box, but I can't tell you where exactly. I think it's in the white junction box. I had to replace it once myself.

Guest TheMadDutchDude

I honestly can't remember and I'm taking stabs in the dark here.

Try looking under the live terminal closest to the earth. I think it needs to be unscrewed.

I can't logically think where else it could be, but you may be able to spot it.

Perhaps a bit of resistance probing with your DMM will do the trick. Find out where the link is broken and base your search around that.

Guest TheMadDutchDude

Whereabouts are you based, Nick? I assume further north like most overclockers.

Oh, new hardware? Do tell me more. :D

Also, add me on Skype. I assume you have it.