HWBOT Community Forums

Intel DX58SO -> 221 max Host Clock Frequency? Why?

GKirev

Where did I go wrong?  

5 members have voted

1. 1. Where did I go wrong?

• Buying this motherboard.
    • 222 Host Clock Frequency is extremely high.
    • Not getting processor with an unlocked multy.
    • Did you try cooling the chipset with water? (uh... do i need to?)

Hello, guys!

This is my first post... My name is Georgi, I'm 24 years old and im a hobbyist overclocker.

Decided to get into the real world of overclocking by entering my favourite OC website ;)

Now about my post...

I decided to build myself a water chiller and overclock...

But then I bumped into a stop. While I was trying to reach 5ghz on a X5660 Xeon,

the motherboard bottlenecked me at 221 "Host Clock Frequency".

I am 99% sure it's the motherboard. Why:

-> I have isolated the ram and cpu and the mobo crashes at 221-22.

-> I did not see an entry with a higher hcf than what I manage to reach.

-> I am actively cooling the motherboard with air.

-> I am supplying more than enough steady current with a high end power supply.

-> I am supplying more than enough voltage (I even maxed out the IOH and QPI/Uncore voltage)

-> I am not using the watter chiller yet, I just turn it on to cooldown the water from time to time - no condensation.

-> I am using the latest BIOS.

-> I have tried different memory and CPU's. Even a new GPU.

-> I have been moving my overclock with 4Mhz increments steadily and logged my every attempt untill I hit this wall. I managed to reach 4.71Ghz and hit the wall.

-> I hit 4.71 on 221fsb. CPU voltage was as low as possible. I ran ~10 minutes prime95

and one of the cores was stopped due to an error in Prime. I increaced voltage on the CPU first -> same thing. I increaced the voltage of the ram and IOH + QPI/uncore (even maxed them out) - same thing. I eliminated the memory out of the equasion - same thing.