HWBOT Community Forums

Recommendations/suggestions for Phase Change?

I just picked up an old Prometeia Mach I unit, and I am a bit of a beginner when it comes to insulation and sub-zero cooling. So I had a few things im curious about-

What are good methods of insulation? I have seen kneaded eraser as one, liquid electrical tape as well but will normal electrical tape with a layer of foam be good? I have put down a layer of tape on my AM3 board (it's not an amazing overclocker but will do fine for getting used to sub-zero) like this:

hIJzkwB.jpg

(I've also put Dielectric grease in the socket, and will be adding foam when the cooler shows up soon)

other thing: I'm getting the unit in New condition so it still has the stock R134 in it. I've researched a little and found that R507 or R404A can be put in the Mach 1 without issues, how big of a difference will this make for cooling? Is there "better" gases to use for cooling?

Thanks for input!

People have had issues with dielectric grease in the socket before, however that was on Intel. Make sure you have insulation and towels between the board and backplate as well. As the CPU is raises above the board you'll get frost forming on the sides of the CPU, so be careful of that too.

With Phase, and generally up to -130 degrees I use Vaseline, in and out of the socket

0d15ee92a2ba3327ed432c1e54b144b9_thumb.jpg

the only downside is that when you use the motherboard on air the Vaseline melts and you have to put it back

I had many problems with dielectric and silicone grease

Edited by scannick

With Phase, and generally up to -130 degrees I use Vaseline, in and out of the socket

0d15ee92a2ba3327ed432c1e54b144b9_thumb.jpg

the only downside is that when you use the motherboard on air the Vaseline melts and you have to put it back

I had many problems with dielectric and silicone grease