Go Back   hwbot.org > HWBOT > HWBOT OC-Crime Center

HWBOT OC-Crime Center This subforum is dedicated to collecting information on OC-related crime.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
  #71  
Old 02-24-2012, 03:11
Vinster Vinster is offline
robo cop
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: CANADA
Posts: 252
Default

unfortunately all we can do is rely on honesty of the users...

now here is a question regarding the new algorithm...

I have an i7-920 and a GTX580, a teammate has a i7-2600k and a 7970... he's done all of his submissions for his HW and all the benches, and I have done all of mine, but then I borrow his i7-2600K for my 3D benches using my GTX580...

now because he has a 2600K and I now have a 2600K in submissions but we both have different GPU for GPU benches does the updated TPP algorithm with the /10 take in to account that the same CPU was used for 2 different GPU's or is it only for when 2 users submit a score with the same GPU?

I hope I explained that question well enough..

Vin
__________________
TEAM: http://www.411overkill.com/portal.php
IF IT DOESN'T OVERCLOCK... IT'S BROKEN!

  #72  
Old 03-14-2012, 07:21
marsey99 marsey99 is offline
kitchen robot
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by poparamiro View Post
I would stay on -20c ambient but the problem is that heatpipe coolers do not work under ~ -2c.

At -10c ambient i have same load temps that i get on +25c ambient.
i found that the fatter heatpipes of the ifx (and silver arrow) can work better than the thinner ones at low temps but they give up around -8 :/

cold air ftw, not like these pussies with ln2 or cascades :P
  #73  
Old 04-27-2012, 03:12
BeepBeep2 BeepBeep2 is offline
robo cop
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UNITED STATES
Posts: 220
Default

So I hate to bring this up again, but I still feel poparamiro and nachtfalke are sharing hardware...

Exact same clocks, and same CPU model...but they claim one is on "Air" and the other is on "Water"...both cards being alien cards, outstanding for either class, both hold #1 for ambient cooling.
http://hwbot.org/submission/2251554_...r3_21213_marks
http://hwbot.org/submission/2275402_...r3_21282_marks

Also, nachtfalke's 4850 has had the vendor ID manipulated to read "Dell"...really? Monstru can claim whatever he wants but those are super cherry picked-card type results, if they sold the card to each other I'm sorry but it's kind of suspicious.

Also 10 days ago they both submitted 7970 results both with ASUS bios cards (may be completely different...)...which may be a coincidence but how many coincidences can you have? Also 2 weeks ago poparamiro submitted a bunch of 2x 4850 results and 6 days ago nachtfalke followed up. On vantage submission, nachtfalke labeled his card "XFX 7970 Core Edition" but it is flashed with ASUS bios just like poparamiro (left info blank, does that a lot)

Also, if poparamiro is going to compete in the Enthusiast league, why do very many of his submissions not have photos of his setup? ...not just that but others are obscure and he often leaves out what board he uses both in HWBOT info and screenshots. I see a lot of the same parts doing very similar clocks but the difference is that nachtfalke's results are always on cascade or phase for CPU and GPUs on water at same/slightly higher clocks.
__________________
specialbunnyaction specialbunnyaction specialbunnyaction specialbunnyaction specialbunnyaction specialbunnyaction specialbunnyaction specialbunnyaction specialbunnyaction specialbunnyaction

Last edited by BeepBeep2; 04-27-2012 at 03:44.
  #74  
Old 04-27-2012, 05:32
Vinster Vinster is offline
robo cop
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: CANADA
Posts: 252
Default

I didn't know Dell made 4800 Series cards...

Good to know..

Vin
__________________
TEAM: http://www.411overkill.com/portal.php
IF IT DOESN'T OVERCLOCK... IT'S BROKEN!

  #75  
Old 04-27-2012, 06:33
GENiEBEN's Avatar
GENiEBEN GENiEBEN is online now
Never send a human to do a machine's job.
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: MATRIX
Posts: 2,434
Send a message via MSN to GENiEBEN Send a message via Skype™ to GENiEBEN
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BeepBeep2 View Post
Also, nachtfalke's 4850 has had the vendor ID manipulated to read "Dell"...really? Monstru can claim whatever he wants but those are super cherry picked-card type results, if they sold the card to each other I'm sorry but it's kind of suspicious.
Do tell how you can tell a vendor ID has been manipulated

Quote:
Originally Posted by BeepBeep2 View Post
Also 10 days ago they both submitted 7970 results both with ASUS bios cards (may be completely different...)...which may be a coincidence but how many coincidences can you have? Also 2 weeks ago poparamiro submitted a bunch of 2x 4850 results and 6 days ago nachtfalke followed up. On vantage submission, nachtfalke labeled his card "XFX 7970 Core Edition" but it is flashed with ASUS bios just like poparamiro (left info blank, does that a lot)
It so happens everyone uses the Asus bios, why exactly is this a problem? From what I remember nacht owned more than just 1 XFX card, so he may aswell own an Asus card.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BeepBeep2 View Post
Also, if poparamiro is going to compete in the Enthusiast league, why do very many of his submissions not have photos of his setup? ...not just that but others are obscure and he often leaves out what board he uses both in HWBOT info and screenshots. I see a lot of the same parts doing very similar clocks but the difference is that nachtfalke's results are always on cascade or phase for CPU and GPUs on water at same/slightly higher clocks.
He always uses setup pics, besides once you set your top 15/20 whatever scores it doesnt matter anymore
__________________
  #76  
Old 04-27-2012, 06:49
BeepBeep2 BeepBeep2 is offline
robo cop
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UNITED STATES
Posts: 220
Default

...really, you didn't know that vendor ID is read out by GPU-Z?


With 7970's, of course, exactly why I said "may be completely different" "may be coincidence"

Uhh, and I think it's safe to say that about half of poparamiro's results don't have setup pics...and are missing almost all component info but CPU and maybe ram speed, usually only in screenshot.

As far as the 4850 results, both of their cards do exactly the same clocks, and those clocks are ridiculous? (Most 4850 hit ~850-900 on air even with vmod) They're also using same CPU/motherboard models, but that doesn't necessarily mean anything on its own.
__________________
specialbunnyaction specialbunnyaction specialbunnyaction specialbunnyaction specialbunnyaction specialbunnyaction specialbunnyaction specialbunnyaction specialbunnyaction specialbunnyaction

Last edited by BeepBeep2; 04-27-2012 at 07:09.
  #77  
Old 04-27-2012, 07:15
GENiEBEN's Avatar
GENiEBEN GENiEBEN is online now
Never send a human to do a machine's job.
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: MATRIX
Posts: 2,434
Send a message via MSN to GENiEBEN Send a message via Skype™ to GENiEBEN
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BeepBeep2 View Post
...really, you didn't know that vendor ID is read out by GPU-Z?

With 7970's, of course, exactly why I said "may be completely different" "may be coincidence"

Uhh, and I think it's safe to say that about half of poparamiro's results don't have setup pics...and are missing almost all component info but CPU and maybe ram speed, usually only in screenshot.

As far as the 4850 results, both of their cards do exactly the same clocks, and those clocks are ridiculous? (Most 4850 hit ~850-900 on air even with vmod) They're also using same CPU/motherboard models, but that doesn't necessarily mean anything on its own.
So hard to understand your own language? How can you tell it was, and i will bold this time, MANIPULATED?

Have a look at top 10 Pro league, who enters info? Some dont even bother entering cpu frequency

I think they have a conspiracy plan,they send each other the cpu/mobo/vga every week , 800miles away, and they arent telling us /s.


Quote:
Originally Posted by BeepBeep2 View Post
Why the hell are you insulting me?
:}|
__________________

Last edited by GENiEBEN; 04-27-2012 at 07:33.
  #78  
Old 04-27-2012, 07:24
BeepBeep2 BeepBeep2 is offline
robo cop
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UNITED STATES
Posts: 220
Default

It is super easy to change the device ID of a card.
However why the f*** change it to "Dell"?

Unless he happened to use a card pulled from a Dell machine why would it say Dell?

Why the hell are you insulting me?
__________________
specialbunnyaction specialbunnyaction specialbunnyaction specialbunnyaction specialbunnyaction specialbunnyaction specialbunnyaction specialbunnyaction specialbunnyaction specialbunnyaction
  #79  
Old 04-27-2012, 11:10
I.nfraR.ed I.nfraR.ed is online now
transformer
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 844
Default

There are Dell HD4850 cards (reference). You can find one in ebay as well.
__________________
  #80  
Old 04-27-2012, 12:15
BeepBeep2 BeepBeep2 is offline
robo cop
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: UNITED STATES
Posts: 220
Default

Thanks for clarification.

EDIT:
Now that I'm on a desktop and not a smartphone I can load results...
__________________
specialbunnyaction specialbunnyaction specialbunnyaction specialbunnyaction specialbunnyaction specialbunnyaction specialbunnyaction specialbunnyaction specialbunnyaction specialbunnyaction

Last edited by BeepBeep2; 04-27-2012 at 12:25.
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright COLARDYN IT GCV 2004 - 2013