Go Back   HWBOT forum > Overclocking & benchmarking > Benchmark software

Benchmark software Discuss benchmarking software.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #491  
Old 1 Week Ago
bolc bolc is offline
robo cop
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: France
Posts: 212
Thanks: 2
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
bolc
Default Re: GPUPI - SuperPI on the GPU

Quote:
Originally Posted by _mat_ View Post
Your HD 4850 should work fine with GPUPI 3.0.1. It supports OpenCL 1.0 and double precision, so it's good to go. If you encounter any problems, please let me know here.

Just be aware that GPUPI 3.0 currently works only on 64 bit operating systems and Windows 7 upwards. It should work fine on Vista though, but it's untested yet.

For Windows XP support use the Legacy version of GPUPI 2.3.4 (Download it here: https://www.overclockers.at/news/gpu...support-thread). If you need 32 bit support, let me know as well. I can easily build one, although I prefer to phase out 32 bit support if possible.

GPUPI 3.0 and all its minor versions are currently allowed for submission.

Regarding the results you have posted: Please report them so the moderators can have a look.

Great to hear the 4850 will work with it, I use win7 64 so it is fine
Thank you
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #492  
Old 1 Week Ago
websmile's Avatar
websmile websmile is offline
HWBOT Forum Administrators
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: GERMANY
Posts: 4,587
Thanks: 1,015
Thanked 1,368 Times in 748 Posts
websmile will become famous soon enoughwebsmile will become famous soon enough
Send a message via ICQ to websmile
Default Re: GPUPI - SuperPI on the GPU

Quote:
Originally Posted by bolc View Post
not exactly on the dual xeon bug issue, but what about submission with dual xeon stations, competing with single xeon submissions...? (submitted by mistake on both I think)

same score submitted as both 4x and 8x
http://hwbot.org/submission/3607721_...40_45sec_130ms
http://hwbot.org/submission/3608472_...40_45sec_130ms

8x submitted as 4x
http://hwbot.org/submission/3607549_...2min_19sec_2ms
We see this a lot lately, people seem to think this is acceptable behaviour to submit exact same results to several categories to steal points. We consider this cheating, I already banned some members because of similar actions lately. Maybe it is time to enforce this even more..
__________________
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to websmile For This Useful Post:
Mr.Scott (1 Week Ago)
  #493  
Old 1 Week Ago
bolc bolc is offline
robo cop
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: France
Posts: 212
Thanks: 2
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
bolc
Default Re: GPUPI - SuperPI on the GPU

Quote:
Originally Posted by websmile View Post
We see this a lot lately, people seem to think this is acceptable behaviour to submit exact same results to several categories to steal points. We consider this cheating, I already banned some members because of similar actions lately. Maybe it is time to enforce this even more..

hopefully it was temporary bans...

i d agree with you if this would be consistently done. in his case, he has lots (really a lot!) of xeon x1 and x2 subs, he may have missed those 2 out of his multiple dozens...

a bit like when submitting amd unlocked cpu scores, sometimes, the system bugs and does not let you adjust the number of cores although you edit. it can get frustrating and hard to find the faulty sub later on, or manage to get it right.
not sure if that applies to multi cpu benchmarks in term of "submission difficulty"

if the results "steals" lots of points, and the owner doe not do anything, yeah, that sounds like cheating. but for those little guys lost in the darkness of 771 benching, I do not think that strongly.

but yeay, you are the rule enforcer

Cheers
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #494  
Old 1 Week Ago
websmile's Avatar
websmile websmile is offline
HWBOT Forum Administrators
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: GERMANY
Posts: 4,587
Thanks: 1,015
Thanked 1,368 Times in 748 Posts
websmile will become famous soon enoughwebsmile will become famous soon enough
Send a message via ICQ to websmile
Default Re: GPUPI - SuperPI on the GPU

Everyone can make a mistake, which is why we watch this closely - I see no pattern for example at this user, but we have/had others that did stuff like this systematically. On these we decided to not tolerate this anymore, and we also hand out warnings now for stuff like posted here to show that this is no joke.
__________________
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to websmile For This Useful Post:
Mr.Scott (1 Week Ago)
  #495  
Old 1 Week Ago
_mat_ _mat_ is offline
robo cop
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: AUSTRIA
Posts: 346
Thanks: 8
Thanked 68 Times in 42 Posts
_mat_ is on a distinguished road
Default Re: GPUPI - SuperPI on the GPU

Thanks to skulstation I could work on a system with the SR-2 today to have a look at the timing issues. I could not reproduce problems with the RTC timer via remote access myself and I am pretty sure that this has nothing to do with already known bclock skewing that impacts the TSC timers.

This is something completely different and it skews the RTC on Windows 7 and possibly every other Windows version as well. That means that every benchmark that uses RTC - Aquamark for example - will be impacted by this problem as well, not just GPUPI.

As a countermeasure I have implemented a safeguard for GPUPI 3.1 that prohibits the usage of the RTC timer on the SR-2. So you will need to enable the High Precision Event Timer on those systems otherwise GPUPI 3.1 will not let you run the benchmark. skulstation is currently testing the new version as we speak and will report any problems or findings. Let's see if that fixes the issue. If no further problems arise I will release GPUPI 3.1 officially and disable benchmark submission for version 2.3.x and 3.0.

As for the other benchmarks like Aquamark, that should be looked at as well. I can compile a list of benchmarks that use the RTC timer, so we can work on that. But let's fix GPUPI first to be sure that the RTC timer is the issue. Afterwards it should be discussed what is going to happen with the current SR-2 runs. If nobody can reproduce a 46 seconds run for GPUPI for CPU 1B with two hexacore Xeons with GPUPI 3.1, I am recommending to delete these scores.
__________________
Reply With Quote
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to _mat_ For This Useful Post:
Splave (6 Days Ago), Strunkenbold (1 Day Ago), websmile (1 Week Ago), yosarianilives (1 Day Ago)
  #496  
Old 1 Week Ago
_mat_ _mat_ is offline
robo cop
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: AUSTRIA
Posts: 346
Thanks: 8
Thanked 68 Times in 42 Posts
_mat_ is on a distinguished road
Default Re: GPUPI - SuperPI on the GPU

If you want to test as well, feel free to download GPUPI 3.1 right here: https://www.overclockers.at/downloads/GPUPI%203.1.zip
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #497  
Old 1 Week Ago
bolc bolc is offline
robo cop
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: France
Posts: 212
Thanks: 2
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
bolc
Default Re: GPUPI - SuperPI on the GPU

Quote:
Originally Posted by _mat_ View Post
If you want to test as well, feel free to download GPUPI 3.1 right here: https://www.overclockers.at/downloads/GPUPI%203.1.zip

Hi
I have tried running Win7 64 with HD4850, catalyst driver 13.9, latest on amd site, with gpupi 3.0.1, and the device is not seen un gpupi. It seels intel opencl and amd opencl for the cpu only.
same thing with 2.2, 2.3.4 legacy and 3.1
any hints where to look after?
Thank you
Cheers
__________________

Last edited by bolc; 1 Week Ago at 21:45.
Reply With Quote
  #498  
Old 1 Week Ago
_mat_ _mat_ is offline
robo cop
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: AUSTRIA
Posts: 346
Thanks: 8
Thanked 68 Times in 42 Posts
_mat_ is on a distinguished road
Default Re: GPUPI - SuperPI on the GPU

If the device is not shown, it is a driver issue. The enumeration of devices is a pretty basic thing an relies on what the OpenCL driver returns.

Just to be sure: Have you tried Luxmark or other OpenCL applications? Do you have the same problems there?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #499  
Old 1 Week Ago
bolc bolc is offline
robo cop
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: France
Posts: 212
Thanks: 2
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
bolc
Default Re: GPUPI - SuperPI on the GPU

Quote:
Originally Posted by _mat_ View Post
If the device is not shown, it is a driver issue. The enumeration of devices is a pretty basic thing an relies on what the OpenCL driver returns.

Just to be sure: Have you tried Luxmark or other OpenCL applications? Do you have the same problems there?
Hi
Thanks.
the strange thing is that some suceeded to detect the card
http://hwbot.org/submission/3319863_...min_6sec_376ms
with catalyst 13.9, opencl 1.2

on my hd7950, installing catalyst 15.7.1 installs opencl driver.


it seems this carsd is only compliant with opencl 1.0 (these sites say 1.0 but gpupi worked in 1.2 so I guess 1.x is ok....?)
https://www.techpowerup.com/gpudb/493/radeon-hd-4850
https://community.amd.com/thread/152535
here they dismiss 48xx from 1.1, suggesting that 1.0 is the only driver good for 4850.
https://www.mql5.com/en/articles/690
but since it worked on gpupi for several hwbot subs, 1.2 should be ok.


the only way I know so far to install opencl is via catalyst center. it installs OpenCL Driver 10.0.937.2.

perhaps there is another way to force 1.2 installation instead of 2.0 ?


THERE MAY BE HOPE HERE:
http://www.geeks3d.com/20091221/how-...amd-platforms/

I will try luxmark too.
Cheers
__________________

Last edited by bolc; 1 Week Ago at 10:10.
Reply With Quote
  #500  
Old 6 Days Ago
havli havli is offline
robo cop
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: CZECH REPUBLIC
Posts: 313
Thanks: 66
Thanked 107 Times in 38 Posts
havli
Default Re: GPUPI - SuperPI on the GPU

IIRC HD 4800 stopped working with GPUPI long time ago. I think when version 2.3.x was released.

@_mat_
could you please also make 32-bit version of GPUPI 3.1 if it becomes mandatory? There is quite a lot of 32-bit only NetBurst CPUs otherwise capable of running GPUPI. And it is always nice to get free points and gold cups
__________________
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to havli For This Useful Post:
Mr.Scott (6 Days Ago)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright HWBOT 2004 - 2015