Go Back   HWBOT forum > Overclocking & benchmarking > Intel CPU Overclocking > X58A-OC Owners Club

X58A-OC Owners Club Meet and greet other proud owners of GIGABYTE's X58A-OC mainboard

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 09-25-2014
zzolio zzolio is offline
robo cop
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: DENMARK
Posts: 397
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
zzolio
Default

I've never seen something died because of high PCIe and I bench with 135Mhz PCIe
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-25-2014
der8auer's Avatar
der8auer der8auer is offline
HWBot Staff & Forums Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Berlin
Posts: 3,424
Thanks: 220
Thanked 583 Times in 186 Posts
der8auer has a reputation beyond reputeder8auer has a reputation beyond reputeder8auer has a reputation beyond reputeder8auer has a reputation beyond reputeder8auer has a reputation beyond reputeder8auer has a reputation beyond reputeder8auer has a reputation beyond reputeder8auer has a reputation beyond reputeder8auer has a reputation beyond reputeder8auer has a reputation beyond reputeder8auer has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to der8auer
Default

Same here. Just got unstable at a certrain point.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 09-25-2014
suzuki's Avatar
suzuki suzuki is offline
transformer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cyprus,Limassol
Posts: 943
Thanks: 67
Thanked 66 Times in 51 Posts
suzuki
Default

i was talking about ambient cooling,dunno where is the limit on subzero.
On classified i saw this problem a lot,hence many of them were without functional sound,or lan or even sata ports.
It was just a hint to be careful with that thing,it's better to be safe than sorry.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 09-25-2014
TheMadDutchDude
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Thanks for the heads up suzuki. Killing stuff isn't first on the list of things to do but it's a part of the game.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-25-2014
TheMadDutchDude
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I have good news!

Thanks to all that have given me a hand in this thread. Honestly, I couldn't have done it without you. I've got the board benching at 235 - 240 now with a few tweaks. Time to try some more tweaks and get this thing flying.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-25-2014
der8auer's Avatar
der8auer der8auer is offline
HWBot Staff & Forums Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Berlin
Posts: 3,424
Thanks: 220
Thanked 583 Times in 186 Posts
der8auer has a reputation beyond reputeder8auer has a reputation beyond reputeder8auer has a reputation beyond reputeder8auer has a reputation beyond reputeder8auer has a reputation beyond reputeder8auer has a reputation beyond reputeder8auer has a reputation beyond reputeder8auer has a reputation beyond reputeder8auer has a reputation beyond reputeder8auer has a reputation beyond reputeder8auer has a reputation beyond repute
Send a message via MSN to der8auer
Default

So what was the issue in the end?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-25-2014
zzolio zzolio is offline
robo cop
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: DENMARK
Posts: 397
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
zzolio
Default

let me know when you get close http://hwbot.org/submission/2544176_...7_920_5701_mhz
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-25-2014
TheMadDutchDude
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I haven't got a cascade so that's me out of that one already. Haha. I've almost touched 5GHz, but it still needs more voltage fine tuning.

Honestly, I have no idea what the problem was. I upped the PCIE to 115MHz and upped voltages by 0.2v across the board, and it just worked. LOL. I tried lowering the PCIE frequency but it was giving the same problems as before. I guess there's the answer.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-25-2014
TheMadDutchDude
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Any hints as to what the PCIE voltage and QPI/Vtt/IOH/ICH should be at?

EDIT: I did squeeze this from it.

EDIT2: I found out that the copy of wPrime had corrupted and caused the system to crash every time it tried to go higher than 22% completed. It's now chugging along at 225 BCLK and is almost done as I type... I feel like such a NEWB.

Last edited by TheMadDutchDude; 09-25-2014 at 22:54.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11-05-2014
TheMadDutchDude
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Just to prove that it was rookie mistakes that were holding me back... I had another go but on LN2 this time.

http://hwbot.org/submission/2667952_...20_5459.63_mhz

The board got too wet to carry on, so I will try for more tomorrow with HT disabled and cores turned off too.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright HWBOT 2004 - 2015