Go Back   HWBOT forum > Overclocking & benchmarking > Intel CPU Overclocking > X58A-OC Owners Club

X58A-OC Owners Club Meet and greet other proud owners of GIGABYTE's X58A-OC mainboard

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-30-2011
DonMarkoni's Avatar
DonMarkoni DonMarkoni is offline
maintenance bot
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: SERBIA
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
DonMarkoni
Default My (bad) experience with OC Orange

I'm having... hmm... experience with this board...

It is very good so far, seem like CPU's need less VTT and vDIMM to run Elpida Hypers at 4000/2000/7-7-7-20-1T.

But, it also killed my favorite CPU OK, it might have died anyway, but it's like borrowing a car to a friend and it breaks while he was driving. You will not hold him responsible, but it just leaves a bad taste in your mouth.

Booted at 5GHz at 1.55V. Set vCore at 1.6V, pressed Multi+ once and made CPU-Z s/s at 5.2GHz. Restarted.
Booted at 5GHz. Then set vCore at 1.645V (my 990X ran benchmarks many times at under 1.65V), then I pressed Multi+ button twice. Took CPU-Z s/s at 5.4GHz.
Rebooted. Noticed that vCore is 1.7V. Set vCore again at 1.645 and noticed that it does jump at almost 1.7V (checked with DMM). Rebooted.

CPU worked next few hours, while I was trying to make it run at 4.2/4.0/2.0@7-7-7-20-1T unsuccessfully, then it just stopped at C1. Dead.



__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-30-2011
Hondacity's Avatar
Hondacity Hondacity is offline
Really Xtremely Doomed
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,435
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hondacity
Default

llc1? or no loadline calibration used?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-30-2011
DonMarkoni's Avatar
DonMarkoni DonMarkoni is offline
maintenance bot
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: SERBIA
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
DonMarkoni
Default

llc2 or whatever, higher one. But there was no load and it usually stayed as set in BIOS when idling, with some small increase in voltage under load, like 0.01, but no 0.05V.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-30-2011
Hondacity's Avatar
Hondacity Hondacity is offline
Really Xtremely Doomed
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,435
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hondacity
Default

did you play with the vrm frequency switches?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-30-2011
DonMarkoni's Avatar
DonMarkoni DonMarkoni is offline
maintenance bot
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: SERBIA
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
DonMarkoni
Default

Of course, but not at that moment. VRM freq was at 800kHz IIRC.
Usually didn't power off while changing freq, but I never changed it in Win, I did it while idling in BIOS.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-30-2011
Hondacity's Avatar
Hondacity Hondacity is offline
Really Xtremely Doomed
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,435
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hondacity
Default

use stock frequency...its only needed when you are at the max load say 6ghz vantage.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-30-2011
TaPaKaH TaPaKaH is offline
robot overlord
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,808
Thanks: 34
Thanked 268 Times in 102 Posts
TaPaKaH
Send a message via ICQ to TaPaKaH Send a message via Skype™ to TaPaKaH
Default

Gigabyte boards do have a bad reputation of killing CPUs.
But you were asking for trouble yourself - running 1.65 vcore with ambient cooling
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-30-2011
DonMarkoni's Avatar
DonMarkoni DonMarkoni is offline
maintenance bot
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: SERBIA
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
DonMarkoni
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hondacity View Post
use stock frequency...its only needed when you are at the max load say 6ghz vantage.
I'll keep that in mind. Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sam OCX View Post
Gigabyte boards do have a bad reputation of killing CPUs.
But you were asking for trouble yourself - running 1.65 vcore with ambient cooling
Yeah, I know, but never expected trouble around that corner.
I was very cautious about VTT, as it is known to be higher then expected on this board. But it is always higher.
vCore was spot on/slightly higher, and than jumped much higher.
I know and accept the risk of overclocking, but this IS a problem with board.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-30-2011
Hondacity's Avatar
Hondacity Hondacity is offline
Really Xtremely Doomed
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,435
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hondacity
Default

1.65v is too much for gt, 1.65v for 45nm bloomfields were slow killers. 1.65v is just too much imo.

as for the board, it works ok for me. it does overvolt-gigabutt trick to make things work fo sure...
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-31-2011
dinos22's Avatar
dinos22 dinos22 is offline
Kind heart
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Apsurdistan
Posts: 1,869
Thanks: 7
Thanked 29 Times in 15 Posts
dinos22 is on a distinguished road
Default

Oh man sorry to hear that, bad luck there . It really sucks losing a good chip I know how you feel!

You were playing with fire at those volts and cooling. Gigabyte boards set vcore a bit higher once you start going past 1.65, if you had a play with other boards in the past this jump would be familiar. It only happens around 1.65 in bios. This is normal. You really should have had subzero cooling for anything past 1.6 mate, I wouldnt stuff around next time no matter what board you use.

use stock VRM unless you specifically see an improvement. I very much doubt you will see anything change on standard cooling. It might make a difference with some CPUs subzero however. Always test extensively with stock on Gigabyte first though and then gradually work your way up that's my advice.

Last edited by dinos22; 08-31-2011 at 02:10.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright HWBOT 2004 - 2015