Go Back   HWBOT forum > >

Nvidia GPU Overclocking The other green team goes here!


User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 6 Days Ago
TheGamingBarrel TheGamingBarrel is offline
grunt bot
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 144
Thanks: 8
Thanked 18 Times in 14 Posts
TheGamingBarrel
Default Fermi delidding for LN2 Clocking

Has anyone here ever attempted to run a fermi card on LN2 Without the IHS? I am pretty sure that my card will have some horrible thermal paste and I am wondering if I can run direct die or if I should just fill it up with kryonaut and move on?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Unread 3 Days Ago
K404's Avatar
K404 K404 is offline
nVidia FTW!
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Location: Glasgowvic, Scotistan. Average Kingdom of Un-United Britain..
Posts: 3,855
Thanks: 16
Thanked 146 Times in 85 Posts
K404
Default Re: Fermi delidding for LN2 Clocking

"benefits for some and not others"

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hondacity View Post
i believe in K404! :P
https://twitter.com/K404ExtremeOC

I do not believe in 1st place by any means, at any cost.

Quote:
Originally Posted by der8auer View Post
Knowing workarounds to get a benchmark to run is not a skill. It's a combination of knowledge and wasting time.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Unread 3 Days Ago
xoqolatl xoqolatl is offline
grunt bot
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: POLAND
Posts: 193
Thanks: 24
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
xoqolatl
Default Re: Fermi delidding for LN2 Clocking

Two out of three cards I ever had had air bubbles trapped between the die and IHS. Might be worth it to replace the IHS even if you don't mount directly to die.

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Unread 2 Days Ago
Calathea Calathea is offline
robo cop
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: SWEDEN
Posts: 463
Thanks: 9
Thanked 12 Times in 7 Posts
Calathea
Default Re: Fermi delidding for LN2 Clocking

Quote:
Originally Posted by xoqolatl View Post
Two out of three cards I ever had had air bubbles trapped between the die and IHS. Might be worth it to replace the IHS even if you don't mount directly to die.
Did you see any gains from changing this? I have a few fermi cards laying around, would be fun to delid them. Stuck at 950-980 MHz core on air now.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Unread 2 Days Ago
xoqolatl xoqolatl is offline
grunt bot
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: POLAND
Posts: 193
Thanks: 24
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
xoqolatl
Default Re: Fermi delidding for LN2 Clocking

I only remounted the IHS on one card, but didn't test clocks afterward. Remaining cards I used with direct-to-die mount to avoid paste cracking.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright HWBOT 2004 - 2015
watch GOTS0701 usa news today