Go Back   HWBOT forum > HWBOT Information > Benchmark Rules > Rules Updates

Rules Updates Discussion about ongoing/future rules updates

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-13-2016
Christian Ney's Avatar
Christian Ney Christian Ney is offline
Single Point of Contact
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Posts: 7,490
Thanks: 3
Thanked 369 Times in 168 Posts
Christian Ney is on a distinguished road
Default [RU] [GR] Unlocked graphics cards

=> GR
=> Need to be clarified or made.

Currently:
Submissions made with a graphics card that has been unlocked falls in the category of the original graphics card. Example: A HD 6950 flashed into a HD 6970 falls into the HD 6950 ranking.

Problem:
- Real HD 6970 are being submitted in both HD 6950 and HD 6970 rankings.
- Unlocked HD 6950 are being submitted under both HD 6950 and HD 6970 rankings.
- Unfair for those with a graphics card that can't be unlocked.

Proposition:
Handle unlocked graphics cards like we handle unlocked processors. In other words, add an option in the submission form to tick when the graphics card is unlocked. In this case the scores will be ranked in a separate ranking and it is going to look like this:



Of course, it is not allowed to submit under different categories with the same hardware.

Last edited by Christian Ney; 08-13-2016 at 08:59.
Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Christian Ney For This Useful Post:
havli (08-14-2016), mickulty (08-13-2016), Mr.Scott (08-13-2016)
  #2  
Old 08-13-2016
mickulty mickulty is offline
grunt bot
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 156
Thanks: 197
Thanked 74 Times in 44 Posts
mickulty
Default Re: [RU] [GR] Unlocked graphics cards

Sounds perfect to me - I bet it would save a lot of work for hwbot staff cleaning up after people who got confused as well and that has to be good. Might need to add two options for the AMD R9 Fury as some cards can be half unlocked to 3840 cores.

Quote:
Of course, it is not allowed to submit under different categories with the same hardware.
Is this referring to people submitting a 6950 as both a 6950 and a 6970? Presumably an unlockable 6950 could be submitted in both locked and unlocked states?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-13-2016
Christian Ney's Avatar
Christian Ney Christian Ney is offline
Single Point of Contact
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Posts: 7,490
Thanks: 3
Thanked 369 Times in 168 Posts
Christian Ney is on a distinguished road
Default Re: [RU] [GR] Unlocked graphics cards

Quote:
Originally Posted by mickulty View Post
Is this referring to people submitting a 6950 as both a 6950 and a 6970?
Yes, you can have four different scenarios:
HD 6950 under both HD 6950 and HD 6970 (because it's reported as Radeon HD 6900 series by GPU-Z).
HD 6950 under HD 6950 then unlock and submit to HD 6970.
HD 6950 unlocked under both HD 6950 and HD 6970.
HD 6970 under both HD 6950 and HD 6970.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mickulty View Post
Presumably an unlockable 6950 could be submitted in both locked and unlocked states?
Yes, just like for unlocked processors. Same category but different ranking.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-13-2016
mickulty mickulty is offline
grunt bot
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 156
Thanks: 197
Thanked 74 Times in 44 Posts
mickulty
Default Re: [RU] [GR] Unlocked graphics cards

Quote:
Originally Posted by Christian Ney View Post
Yes, you can have four different scenarios:
HD 6950 under both HD 6950 and HD 6970 (because it's reported as Radeon HD 6900 series by GPU-Z).
HD 6950 under HD 6950 then unlock and submit to HD 6970.
HD 6950 unlocked under both HD 6950 and HD 6970.
HD 6970 under both HD 6950 and HD 6970.

Yes, just like for unlocked processors. Same category but different ranking.
Appreciate the clarification, thanks
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-13-2016
K404's Avatar
K404 K404 is offline
nVidia FTW!
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Location: Glasgowvic, Scotistan. Average Kingdom of Un-United Britain..
Posts: 3,855
Thanks: 16
Thanked 147 Times in 86 Posts
K404
Default Re: [RU] [GR] Unlocked graphics cards

Will every GPU have an "unlocked" tab, or does it have to be added manually, once it's a known variable?

The only problem I've ever seen with unlocked is NON unlocked parts going up against unlocked cards in the default category. "have Vs have not" but a lot of the time, unlocked cards make binning easier "buy this model only, or don't bother"

There is very little proof of "better card or unlocked card" anyway.

Another moderation headche
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hondacity View Post
i believe in K404! :P
https://twitter.com/K404ExtremeOC

I do not believe in 1st place by any means, at any cost.

Quote:
Originally Posted by der8auer View Post
Knowing workarounds to get a benchmark to run is not a skill. It's a combination of knowledge and wasting time.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-13-2016
Christian Ney's Avatar
Christian Ney Christian Ney is offline
Single Point of Contact
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Posts: 7,490
Thanks: 3
Thanked 369 Times in 168 Posts
Christian Ney is on a distinguished road
Default Re: [RU] [GR] Unlocked graphics cards

Not on every graphics cards, just the known ones.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-13-2016
mickulty mickulty is offline
grunt bot
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 156
Thanks: 197
Thanked 74 Times in 44 Posts
mickulty
Default Re: [RU] [GR] Unlocked graphics cards

Quote:
Originally Posted by K404 View Post
There is very little proof of "better card or unlocked card" anyway.
For what it's worth GPU-Z seems to report AMD shader count correctly, for example this 'half-unlocked' R9 Fury: http://gpuz.techpowerup.com/15/08/20/4vh.png
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-17-2016
Christian Ney's Avatar
Christian Ney Christian Ney is offline
Single Point of Contact
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Posts: 7,490
Thanks: 3
Thanked 369 Times in 168 Posts
Christian Ney is on a distinguished road
Default Re: [RU] [GR] Unlocked graphics cards

Added to task manager
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-18-2016
knopflerbruce knopflerbruce is offline
1guy4000cups
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 4,575
Thanks: 3
Thanked 22 Times in 14 Posts
knopflerbruce is on a distinguished road
Default Re: [RU] [GR] Unlocked graphics cards

Might be worth it to make a list of cards where this is indeed possible. Some older ones can be soft-unlocked, too (GF6-series comes to mind)
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by sno.lcn
I was just searching for some good dick cloning software, guess I was doing it wrong, got all kinds of results I wasn't expecting
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-18-2016
Christian Ney's Avatar
Christian Ney Christian Ney is offline
Single Point of Contact
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Geneva, Switzerland
Posts: 7,490
Thanks: 3
Thanked 369 Times in 168 Posts
Christian Ney is on a distinguished road
Default Re: [RU] [GR] Unlocked graphics cards

A list will be made yes, this option will only be available on known cards.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XTU to overclock Graphics Cards? shinra35888 Support 0 11-18-2015 14:23
Graphics Cards Makers Start to Roll-Out "Tahiti LE" Graphics Cards hwbotrss Tech News RSS 0 11-23-2012 09:40
Nvidia Launches GK106 Graphics Processing Unit, Two New Graphics Cards hwbotrss Tech News RSS 0 09-14-2012 03:43
AMD to Let Graphics Cards Makers Manufacture Own-Design Radeon HD 6000 Cards hwbotrss Tech News RSS 0 10-25-2010 18:31


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright HWBOT 2004 - 2015