Go Back   HWBOT forum > Overclocking & benchmarking > Intel CPU Overclocking > Sandy Bridge (P67/Z68) OC

Sandy Bridge (P67/Z68) OC Clock'n'volt that Sandy

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-03-2012
debs3759 debs3759 is offline
maintenance bot
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
debs3759
Default Is this a cold bug, or is my CPU dying?

My main rig is a 2700K with a GTX570, cooled with chilled water. I normally keep the water temp set to 11C, which currently (at 4.5GHz) is keeping the CPU at 46C maximum when fully loaded (folding) and the GPU at 38C maximum.

A couple of nights ago I did some more benching, and turned the water temp down to 3C to see if I could get the CPU over 5.5 GHz. As soon as the water temp hit 8C, the computer shut down. It wouldn't boot again until the water in the block had increased to 9C, then it went into a cycle of boot, shut down, delay, boot, etc. It wouldn't even stay on at stock speeds as long as the water temp was allowed to drop below 9C.

I upped the water temp again to 11C (avoiding the dew point), and the computer has been running constantly at 4.5 GHz (I'm probably going to increase it again to 4.8 soon) for a couple of days with no issues.

Does that mean I have a cold bug, or is it more likely that the chip is degrading through pushing it so hard (at 5.5 GHz, to pass all benchmarks but without stability testing in IBT, the max temp was about 65C, and Vcore was 1.63V for about 3 hours of benches)? This is the first system that I have overclocked so heavily or benched so hard (and has got me into the top 200 enthusiasts worldwide, which I'm obviously pleased with).

It's no big deal if the CPU is dying (hey, I expect that now I've taken on this new hobby - that's what RMAs are for), but it'll be handy to know before it happens on other systems I'll be benching (especially as I will be going high-end with the EVGA SR-X this year, and benching that as well!). Obviously I'm not YET an expert, but as my current goal is to reach the top 50 worldwide enthusiasts by late summer I expect to learn a lot in a short time (especially if I manage to afford a LN2 setup in that time as well!)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-03-2012
sumonpathak sumonpathak is offline
robo cop
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: INDIA
Posts: 402
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
sumonpathak
Send a message via Skype™ to sumonpathak
Default

well....sound like a CB...also...u wont be in top 50 enthusiast if you go ln2
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by K404 View Post
I live in a delusion of a delusion, wrapped in a delusion, tainted by a delusion

Delu-ception.

i cant overclock
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-03-2012
Hondacity's Avatar
Hondacity Hondacity is offline
Really Xtremely Doomed
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,435
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hondacity
Default

check for condensation, 3c is cold enough to create condensation around the socket.

i don't think its cold bug..at that temperature the silicon is not affected too much.

with the vcore you mention it might be degradation.

there are other voltages that you might be pushing too hard. that the system just won't boot from it.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-03-2012
debs3759 debs3759 is offline
maintenance bot
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
debs3759
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sumonpathak View Post
well....sound like a CB...also...u wont be in top 50 enthusiast if you go ln2
LOL, if I go LN2 I will have to buy loads of old hardware to bench, to justify the cost! I could have picked a cheaper hobby when I started benching this system
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-03-2012
debs3759 debs3759 is offline
maintenance bot
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
debs3759
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hondacity View Post
check for condensation, 3c is cold enough to create condensation around the socket.
Condensation isn't the problem, I kept an eye on that. Also it wasn't at that temp long enough for condensation to develop. I have loads of neoprene and armaflex when I need to insulate.

Quote:
i don't think its cold bug..at that temperature the silicon is not affected too much.
That was what I thought, it just seems a little odd that it is at a specific coolant temp that it won't boot, even though it's well within the specs.

Quote:
with the vcore you mention it might be degradation.

there are other voltages that you might be pushing too hard. that the system just won't boot from it.
Yeah, it looks like I'll be RMAing it after another benching session

I didn't have to touch other voltages than Vcore to get to 5.5 GHz, and when I tried going higher nothing helped. SB is far too easy to overclock, but it has given me the bug
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-04-2012
Hondacity's Avatar
Hondacity Hondacity is offline
Really Xtremely Doomed
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,435
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hondacity
Default

you learn fast my friend!

yep its just vcore that i play with and lots of vdimm for hypers lol

welcome to subzero!

good to see enthusiasts from BTUK
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright HWBOT 2004 - 2015