Go Back   HWBOT forum > Overclocking & benchmarking > AMD CPU Overclocking > AMD Thuban OC

AMD Thuban OC Share findings, overclockers, settings and pose questions about AMD's latest: Thuban

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-23-2010
|ron's Avatar
|ron |ron is offline
robo cop
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 386
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|ron is on a distinguished road
Default HWProject - AOC playing with Phenny 1090T+Crosshair IV Formula

On Sunday and Tuesday (yesterday) we, the AOC, played with our phenny 1090T and the crosshair 4, to take confidence with amd since those are our first runs.

Let's start, setting up everything with 1090T, C4F, 8800GTX and Kingston 2133C9 Kingston provided us for a review: testing to find maximum vga frequencies on air:





Phenny @ 4,25 and 8800gtx at his max on air:


8K cpu score on air, not bad!
Then we started to do insulation on Ryba/sf3d gpu pot, to find max frequencies for the 8800gtx without still vmodding it:













Gpu pot mounted, here we go:






We arrived at -120 on the 8800, but I have an old UEI DT200 that's going crazy, so take these temperatures with a grain of salt...
At -120, we managed to close at 783/1620/972...


Contact between pot and gpu, good!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-23-2010
|ron's Avatar
|ron |ron is offline
robo cop
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 386
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|ron is on a distinguished road
Default

Given that we had problems, troubles, removing that kneaded eraser stuff from the Giga UD7, I tried a new way of preparing the mobo for the neoprene... the thought is to make capacitors and phases, "squared":




Done!


Neoprene...






And here we go with gpu and cpu under ln2:






After 2 hours, insulation did it!


So 5,6ghz max on the cpu, over 10k of cpu score.

http://hwbot.org/community/submissio...marks?new=true

Last edited by |ron; 06-23-2010 at 13:39.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-23-2010
|ron's Avatar
|ron |ron is offline
robo cop
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 386
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|ron is on a distinguished road
Default

Third and last part (for now )



11.159@cpu score, 6ghz stable with "only" 1,8v real, with cpu load calibration ON in bios.
We can't move on from that frequency by entering in win from the bios, we think we should try to enter @5,95 and then going up by using amd overdrive...

Last score with even the gpu@ln2, now we absolutely need the Vmod

A question: when we were@5,94ghz, the mobo was switching continuosly the frequencies by 60mhz (2mhz of fsb with 30x multi gives 60mhz)... that's not good that, when you are at approx 6ghz, the frequency goes up and down by so much!
Have you experienced that?

By the way: bios 0801, we had also a little problem with that NB voltage bug that Leghoofd was speaking about in his review for madshrimps

Last edited by |ron; 06-23-2010 at 13:45.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright HWBOT 2004 - 2015