Go Back   HWBOT forum > Overclocking & benchmarking > AMD CPU Overclocking > AMD Thuban OC

AMD Thuban OC Share findings, overclockers, settings and pose questions about AMD's latest: Thuban

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 11-01-2010
Massman's Avatar
Massman Massman is offline
In the distance
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Taipei
Posts: 22,579
Thanks: 808
Thanked 1,136 Times in 557 Posts
Massman has a spectacular aura aboutMassman has a spectacular aura aboutMassman has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via MSN to Massman
Default

It's CPU, MB, Bios and MEM dependant ...

This chip could do 342 1:2 and 325 3:8 on the 790FX-GD70 on single stage; on C4E with same cooling and memory it can do 350 3:8 and 390 1:2 ... now someone tell me it's 'CPU related'.
__________________
Where courage, motivation and ignorance meet, a persistent idiot awakens.

For all HWBOT community related questions, contact Christian Ney or Websmile. For any other questions, contact me at pieter@hwbot.org.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-02-2010
knopflerbruce knopflerbruce is offline
1guy4000cups
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 4,575
Thanks: 3
Thanked 22 Times in 14 Posts
knopflerbruce is on a distinguished road
Default

At least the CPU is a part of the equation So basically you have to be lucky if your mobo likes your chip, and the other way around?

One more thing... does this board like old school Micron D9GTR modules? Just trying to figure out why it's such a PITA sometimes... grrr.

I guess there is only one BIOS, right?
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by sno.lcn
I was just searching for some good dick cloning software, guess I was doing it wrong, got all kinds of results I wasn't expecting
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-02-2010
TaPaKaH TaPaKaH is offline
robot overlord
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,808
Thanks: 34
Thanked 268 Times in 102 Posts
TaPaKaH
Send a message via ICQ to TaPaKaH Send a message via Skype™ to TaPaKaH
Default

i have tested ten 140/145 on two boards (M4A79 and M4A79T)
if one one board CPU#1 goes, say, 10MHz higher than CPU#2, then you'll see identical situation on other board
Regor/Sargas has somewhat weak IMC, which can't handle high memclocks well. Also HT link doesn't affect 2D performance at all, so it's better to be kept low (at x2 or x3)
If you're on LN2 (DDR3 config) the only divider to use is 1:2 and go for raw clocks which would easily compensate for the 70-80k (<2%) difference difference between 1:2 and 3:8
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-02-2010
Massman's Avatar
Massman Massman is offline
In the distance
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Taipei
Posts: 22,579
Thanks: 808
Thanked 1,136 Times in 557 Posts
Massman has a spectacular aura aboutMassman has a spectacular aura aboutMassman has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via MSN to Massman
Default

It's partially CPU, but it's as much mainboard, bios and memory as it is CPU.

With the GD70 I couldn't get 370 on LN2, with the C4E I can get 390 on SS. With the Kingston memory set I have here I can not pass 310HTT 1:2 on single stage, but with the GTX2 I could do 340HTT 1:2.
__________________
Where courage, motivation and ignorance meet, a persistent idiot awakens.

For all HWBOT community related questions, contact Christian Ney or Websmile. For any other questions, contact me at pieter@hwbot.org.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 11-02-2010
Massman's Avatar
Massman Massman is offline
In the distance
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Taipei
Posts: 22,579
Thanks: 808
Thanked 1,136 Times in 557 Posts
Massman has a spectacular aura aboutMassman has a spectacular aura aboutMassman has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via MSN to Massman
Default

Okay, this is a seriously awesome board. Normally I don't get overly excited about products (as most of them are pretty much the same), but this one has made me go 'holy bunnypoop' during a Pi32M run again.

Switched to Thuban - 400HTT no problemo ... and more incoming.



(but it's too expensive)
__________________
Where courage, motivation and ignorance meet, a persistent idiot awakens.

For all HWBOT community related questions, contact Christian Ney or Websmile. For any other questions, contact me at pieter@hwbot.org.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-02-2010
Massman's Avatar
Massman Massman is offline
In the distance
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Taipei
Posts: 22,579
Thanks: 808
Thanked 1,136 Times in 557 Posts
Massman has a spectacular aura aboutMassman has a spectacular aura aboutMassman has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via MSN to Massman
Default

__________________
Where courage, motivation and ignorance meet, a persistent idiot awakens.

For all HWBOT community related questions, contact Christian Ney or Websmile. For any other questions, contact me at pieter@hwbot.org.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-02-2010
flanker's Avatar
flanker flanker is offline
transformer
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: CZECH REPUBLIC
Posts: 694
Thanks: 167
Thanked 110 Times in 75 Posts
flanker is on a distinguished road
Default

ufff, 4600 MHz and 32M with aircooling? Its very strong! I got max 4550 in 32M...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11-02-2010
Leeghoofd Leeghoofd is offline
Banned by Mafio
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3,760
Thanks: 406
Thanked 426 Times in 264 Posts
Leeghoofd is a jewel in the roughLeeghoofd is a jewel in the roughLeeghoofd is a jewel in the roughLeeghoofd is a jewel in the rough
Default

That's prolly Phase Flanker , don't worry you are safe

Drop the RAM volts massman, it overvolts far too much !!!
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11-05-2010
chew*'s Avatar
chew* chew* is offline
You haz bag of sand?
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: UNITED STATES
Posts: 451
Thanks: 1
Thanked 53 Times in 33 Posts
chew*
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Leeghoofd View Post
That's prolly Phase Flanker , don't worry you are safe

Drop the RAM volts massman, it overvolts far too much !!!
scaredy cat. I will make you a deal, let him use whatever voltage he thinks is necessary with "AIR" on the ram.........if they die I will personally RMA your set.
__________________
I've got no strings to hold me down. To make me fret, or make me frown. I had strings but now I'm free. There are no strings on me

Last edited by chew*; 11-05-2010 at 16:14.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11-06-2010
Leeghoofd Leeghoofd is offline
Banned by Mafio
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3,760
Thanks: 406
Thanked 426 Times in 264 Posts
Leeghoofd is a jewel in the roughLeeghoofd is a jewel in the roughLeeghoofd is a jewel in the roughLeeghoofd is a jewel in the rough
Default

promises promises

Price is too high to let them slip away Brian, plus if they die they will get replaced by Powerchips...(at least that's what a Corsair Rep told me)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright HWBOT 2004 - 2015