Go Back   HWBOT forum > Overclocking & benchmarking > Intel CPU Overclocking > Sandy Bridge (P67/Z68) OC

Sandy Bridge (P67/Z68) OC Clock'n'volt that Sandy

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-20-2015
TheExtremePC TheExtremePC is offline
kitchen robot
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
TheExtremePC
Default A Sandy Bridge Pentium that OC's???

Hello everyone!

I'm a user of HWBOT for about 4 years, had about 60 points on my old HWBOT account, haven't done much on this one.

I don't know much about intel's lower end lineup, and I was under the impression that all of the 1155 pentiums were locked multiplier. Well I threw together a computer for office use today with an EVGA P67 SLI board and a Pentium G640, and while messing around in the bios, noticed that I was able to set a different value in the processor's multiplier setting. I saved the bios and to my surprise, The BIOS is showing the value I've set.

I have not installed windows yet, but I certianly will get a cpuz validation when I do.

I'm wondering if anyone has more information as to why this is possible?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-20-2015
GENiEBEN's Avatar
GENiEBEN GENiEBEN is offline
Never send a human to do a machine's job.
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 3,111
Thanks: 21
Thanked 68 Times in 40 Posts
GENiEBEN
Default

Bios settings are irrelevant (sometimes), I also have 12GHz bios screenshots, doesn't mean it actually works in Windows. Let's see a validation link.
__________________
www.deusex.uk
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-20-2015
TheExtremePC TheExtremePC is offline
kitchen robot
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
TheExtremePC
Default

So I just got windows installed............and the processor is running at its stock multiplier.

I suppose this is one of those times that the bios is dead wrong, can't believe I fell for that.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-20-2015
TheMadDutchDude
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

One final ditch effort is to get Windows to "High Performance" mode, but the chances are that it won't overclock.

I had an MSI Z77 GD65 motherboard that wouldn't overclock, no matter what. I had an 8GHz i7-3770K on less than stock voltage according to its BIOS.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-20-2015
TaPaKaH TaPaKaH is offline
robot overlord
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,808
Thanks: 34
Thanked 268 Times in 102 Posts
TaPaKaH
Send a message via ICQ to TaPaKaH Send a message via Skype™ to TaPaKaH
Default

Sometimes if you load a profile made with a K-chip on a locked Pentium, you will see all the high multiplier and core options, but it doesn't mean that they will actually apply.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright HWBOT 2004 - 2015