Go Back   HWBOT forum > Overclocking & benchmarking > Intel CPU Overclocking

Intel CPU Overclocking Blue team overclocking

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-03-2015
TeamMinions TeamMinions is offline
kitchen robot
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
TeamMinions
Default IXTU benchmarking overclock problems PC shuts down

Win 7
5930k 45x 4.5ghz 1.269 stable
45x cache 1.269 stable
Xmp 2666 1.2 ballistic elite
Asrock mini itx x99
Ax860i power supply
Gtx 970
1.9 input
72 degrees max in stress testing


Those settings verify and for the life of me I cannot go higher then 45x. Whatever I do when I start to benchmark at 46x+ it immediately shuts down. Even if I put the core voltage at 1.3 1.4 1.5 no matter what it shuts down within 1 second. I don't see any thermal throttling. I can't tell if it's the VRM shutting down or what's going on. I have tried no xmp , lower cache settings, 1.8-2.1 input. Speed step on and off, blck at 125 and lower multiplier, nothing works.

Any ideas as to why it is shutting down when going beyond 45x?

Note when doing 46x at 1.269 volts it BSOD and I am thinking the voltage was too low but when I raise it to even 1.299 it shuts down. I can't tell if it's a bios issue when the voltage goes to high or what. I don't see any temps over 75 so far.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-03-2015
Massman's Avatar
Massman Massman is offline
In the distance
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Taipei
Posts: 22,579
Thanks: 808
Thanked 1,136 Times in 557 Posts
Massman has a spectacular aura aboutMassman has a spectacular aura aboutMassman has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via MSN to Massman
Default

What value are you booting up from?
__________________
Where courage, motivation and ignorance meet, a persistent idiot awakens.

For all HWBOT community related questions, contact Christian Ney or Websmile. For any other questions, contact me at pieter@hwbot.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-03-2015
TeamMinions TeamMinions is offline
kitchen robot
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
TeamMinions
Default

Those values. Boot fine, benchmark fine, stress test fine. Anything over 4.5 hence 4.6 and pc turns off when testing. I read somewhere that it could be my power supply with ocp enabled and its drawing too many Amps for the 12v rails but after reading a lot online my ax860i should be able to handle any overclock and single gpu. I don't have corsair link enabled to disable and check but that doesn't sound right
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-03-2015
Massman's Avatar
Massman Massman is offline
In the distance
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Taipei
Posts: 22,579
Thanks: 808
Thanked 1,136 Times in 557 Posts
Massman has a spectacular aura aboutMassman has a spectacular aura aboutMassman has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via MSN to Massman
Default

Hm, the AX860i did have some issues related to random shutdowns but since you're running fine at 4.5GHz that shouldn't be the problem.

Can you try booting up with 46x ratio and 1.35V? Even if it's not XTU stable, it should be able to pass POST (boot) and even go into Windows.

It almost sounds like there's an issue with the ITX board. OCP is possible; might also be BIOS/board related. I haven't seen many builds with the ITX, let alone overclocks, so it's hard to say if asrock build in some protection. I would assume they did since the PCB real estate is very small on ITX.

Maybe someone closer to Asrock can check?
__________________
Where courage, motivation and ignorance meet, a persistent idiot awakens.

For all HWBOT community related questions, contact Christian Ney or Websmile. For any other questions, contact me at pieter@hwbot.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-03-2015
TeamMinions TeamMinions is offline
kitchen robot
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
TeamMinions
Default

Yeah I have no idea. It won't even pass boot at 46x and 1.35v. I can only boot and load windows with my 4.5 settings then try to tune to see anything. If I do higher then 45x in bios and restart it just hangs. doesn't even display anything. It just shuts off after around 15-20 seconds. Very frustrating because this is a brand new build, days old.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-03-2015
Massman's Avatar
Massman Massman is offline
In the distance
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Taipei
Posts: 22,579
Thanks: 808
Thanked 1,136 Times in 557 Posts
Massman has a spectacular aura aboutMassman has a spectacular aura aboutMassman has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via MSN to Massman
Default

I have a vague memory of something similar happening when testing Haswell a long time ago.

Did you disable turbo/eist/c-states?
__________________
Where courage, motivation and ignorance meet, a persistent idiot awakens.

For all HWBOT community related questions, contact Christian Ney or Websmile. For any other questions, contact me at pieter@hwbot.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-03-2015
TeamMinions TeamMinions is offline
kitchen robot
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
TeamMinions
Default

Yeah tried everything. It has to be some kind of protection being enabled because its highly unlikely the 1x increase can reach tjmax In 1 second when 4.5 is stable at 70 degrees 100% load. When previously overclocking Asus rampage 5 extreme and Formula z97 I always got BSOD when trying for higher clocks or saw crazy temps at higher voltages, never a full power off in 1 second. This is my first build with asrock and I am not very happy.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-03-2015
TheMadDutchDude
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

It sounds like a CPU limit. It happens, fella. I had a 2500K which used to do 4.7GHz all day long, but it wouldn't even complete POST at crazy high voltages at 48x. They just hit walls, and there's nothing you can do about it unless you buy another chip that may be able to go further.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-03-2015
BoTSkill BoTSkill is offline
maintenance bot
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: ROMANIA
Posts: 33
Thanks: 26
Thanked 6 Times in 3 Posts
BoTSkill
Default

Not on Hasswell-E. They don't act like that. To exclude the PSU run xtu with 4.5ghz settings that work but with voltage set to 1.35 or 1.4. If it passes than it's not the PSU. If it shuts down than most probably is the motherboard, subdimensioned vrm or some king of OCP protection to protect the motherboard. The PSU should be more than enough for your cpu at 1.35 -1.5v.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-03-2015
Massman's Avatar
Massman Massman is offline
In the distance
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Taipei
Posts: 22,579
Thanks: 808
Thanked 1,136 Times in 557 Posts
Massman has a spectacular aura aboutMassman has a spectacular aura aboutMassman has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via MSN to Massman
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMadDutchDude View Post
It sounds like a CPU limit. It happens, fella. I had a 2500K which used to do 4.7GHz all day long, but it wouldn't even complete POST at crazy high voltages at 48x. They just hit walls, and there's nothing you can do about it unless you buy another chip that may be able to go further.
Sandy Bridge architecture was just like that - it's different from Ivy Bridge and Haswell.
__________________
Where courage, motivation and ignorance meet, a persistent idiot awakens.

For all HWBOT community related questions, contact Christian Ney or Websmile. For any other questions, contact me at pieter@hwbot.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright HWBOT 2004 - 2015