Go Back   HWBOT forum > Advanced overclocking > Memory Heaven (air/extreme)

Memory Heaven (air/extreme) Forgot what this line should be

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #241  
Old 09-29-2017
speed.fastest's Avatar
speed.fastest speed.fastest is offline
robo cop
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Surakarta, Indonesia
Posts: 437
Thanks: 304
Thanked 165 Times in 110 Posts
speed.fastest is on a distinguished road
Default Re: B-Die Binning

Quote:
Originally Posted by suzuki View Post
How you test the imc on your cpu ?

How can you find out if that one is the limit and not the ram kit ?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Put CPU under LN2, all 7700K Me and Hazzan tested on Apex can handle 4200 with RTL 49/50 5-5, tried 3 Z270 Apex did the same under cold
__________________
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to speed.fastest For This Useful Post:
suzuki (10-02-2017)
  #242  
Old 10-01-2017
Castle Castle is offline
kitchen robot
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Castle
Default Re: B-Die Binning

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex@ro View Post
Tested 4266 rgb,failed to train 4000 12 12 12 1.85-2V. Also latest 4266 were worser on tight timings compared to 3600c16. Latest 3733 c17 and 3600c15 again were worser,1707 serial week,1701 on pcb,644 week on IC.

On the average from 5 sets of 3600C16 i had way better average than on 7 sets of 4266.Not to mention that 4266 i had 3 kits with one module DOA.

It is what it is , i binned over 100 kits overall and i have 3 modules super good,found about 6 GOOD(4133 12 11 11 Spi 32M wazza) and about 10 4000-4040 which is in my book average.

My advice would be to get a few kits of 3600 17-18-18 or 16 16 16 NON-RGB and keep the best,return the rest.

Sorry to be the deal-breaker for the RGB but the different PCB makes handling a bunny, for instance lots of 55 codes at reboot or cold-startup at the same time when they were memtest-stable,this is PCB to blaim,might be additional noise caused by the leds or motherboards that are not perfect tuned for this.

I stated my own experience , you can believe me or not,this is opinion based as i said 100 kits of b-die G.skill retail tested,completely waste of cash ,time and resources . While you might see other "retail" kits 4200+ superpi stable, you know unicorns do not exist and real-life experience is so harsh
I have been reading all your guides on DDR4 memory overclocking and I have the Trident Z 3600 C17 Kit and an Apex motherboard. I am trying to overclock to 4133mhz C12 and am getting the qcode 49, which stays on there for about 5-10 seconds and then it changes qcode 2b and then stays at that code until I either power off the board or press the safe mode button.

Could you please tell me what those codes mean as they are not in the Apex manual and what would I need to adjust in my memory timings to overcome those two codes and get it to boot up? Thanks.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #243  
Old 10-01-2017
sabishiihito sabishiihito is offline
robo cop
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 234
Thanks: 25
Thanked 25 Times in 19 Posts
sabishiihito
Default Re: B-Die Binning

Quote:
Originally Posted by speed.fastest View Post
Put CPU under LN2, all 7700K Me and Hazzan tested on Apex can handle 4200 with RTL 49/50 5-5, tried 3 Z270 Apex did the same under cold


What if you’re limited to ambient cooling?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #244  
Old 10-02-2017
wilmkes wilmkes is offline
construction bot
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: china
Posts: 78
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
wilmkes is on a distinguished road
Send a message via ICQ to wilmkes
Default Re: B-Die Binning

4600 b-die Has been no goods
Reply With Quote
  #245  
Old 10-02-2017
speed.fastest's Avatar
speed.fastest speed.fastest is offline
robo cop
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Surakarta, Indonesia
Posts: 437
Thanks: 304
Thanked 165 Times in 110 Posts
speed.fastest is on a distinguished road
Default Re: B-Die Binning

Quote:
Originally Posted by sabishiihito View Post
What if you’re limited to ambient cooling?
On Z270 Apex it will mazed around 4080-4140 32m waza on air, on X299 Apex with Kaby Lake X you will have more if not limited by memory. This all at C12 Tight
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #246  
Old 10-02-2017
Castle Castle is offline
kitchen robot
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Castle
Default Re: B-Die Binning

On the Z270 Apex, when trying to overclock to 4133 C12, what does it mean when it gets a qcode of 49 for about 5-10 seconds, followed by a qcode of 2b and then it stays on 2b until you reset the board or use the safe button?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #247  
Old 10-03-2017
Castle Castle is offline
kitchen robot
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Castle
Default Re: B-Die Binning

When overclocking b-die memory on an Asus Z270 Apex board with tight timings of 12-11-11-28-220-1T at speeds of either 4000 or 4133mhz, what does it mean when upon memory training and boot up, it gets a code of 49 followed by a code of 2b on the LED display on the board?

Is it a problem with timings, or RTL/IOLS or voltages ?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #248  
Old 10-03-2017
Alex@ro Alex@ro is offline
robot overlord
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Romania
Posts: 1,263
Thanks: 117
Thanked 341 Times in 145 Posts
Alex@ro will become famous soon enoughAlex@ro will become famous soon enough
Default Re: B-Die Binning

Wrong subtimings or.mems need more volts or less volts or they can't handle that speed.... Try 3866 profile fredyama profile, does it work?

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #249  
Old 10-04-2017
Castle Castle is offline
kitchen robot
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Australia
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Castle
Default Re: B-Die Binning

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex@ro View Post
Wrong subtimings or.mems need more volts or less volts or they can't handle that speed.... Try 3866 profile fredyama profile, does it work?

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
Yes Fredyama's 3866 profile does work, the only change I had to make was setting IO and SA voltage both from AUTO to 1.25 volts. Dram voltage is at 1.90 volts which is what the profile sets it to. All the timings in the 3866 profile worked perfectly.

But what does that mean in relation to trying to get 4133 C12 to work ?

I have read all your DDR4 guides that you have written, which has helped me learn how to overclock b-die, but the codes 49 and 2b are not covered in your guides as to what they could be referring to and what to change, which is why I am not sure what to fix in order for it to work successfully at 4133.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #250  
Old 10-04-2017
sabishiihito sabishiihito is offline
robo cop
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 234
Thanks: 25
Thanked 25 Times in 19 Posts
sabishiihito
Default Re: B-Die Binning

I get 49 on weak sticks. If you’re seeing that, 99.9% chance the simply aren’t going to run at those settings. My best advice would be to increase CR to 2.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I go about binning? Lays General hardware discussion 17 05-20-2015 17:02
Binning Haswell CPUs for memory OC sabishiihito Memory Heaven (air/extreme) 9 09-28-2014 08:59
AMD A10-5800K Binning (45 samples) [HOW-TO BIN] Massman Trinity / Piledriver / Richland OC 7 12-17-2012 10:20
Binning 163x i7 3770K Christian Ney Ivy Bridge (Z77) OC 69 11-23-2012 13:12
Whats your procedure for binning IB? ZMBKLN Ivy Bridge (Z77) OC 17 11-06-2012 11:22


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright HWBOT 2004 - 2015