Go Back   HWBOT forum > >

Rookies Help Rookies Get to know fellow starting overclockers and help each other out in case you have questions regarding overclocking


User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Unread 08-18-2016
eightyeightkeys eightyeightkeys is offline
kitchen robot
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
eightyeightkeys
Default Asus ROGGL752 VW-i76700HQ-Shows Active Cores -2 ?

Total Newb Here :
Just ran the XTU Benchmark - 919 Marks (No idea if this is good or bad), but, XTU shows that the "Active cores" is 2 ?

Is there some funk in the software ? This laptop is an i76700HQ with 4 cores. CPUID CPU-Z shows 4 cores. Speccy shows 4 cores ?

Any help would be much appreciated !
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Unread 08-18-2016
Massman's Avatar
Massman Massman is offline
In the distance
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Taipei
Posts: 22,481
Thanks: 761
Thanked 1,047 Times in 522 Posts
Massman has a spectacular aura aboutMassman has a spectacular aura aboutMassman has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via MSN to Massman
Default Re: Asus ROGGL752 VW-i76700HQ-Shows Active Cores -2 ?

Hi @eightyeightkeys, do you have a link to your XTU submission?
__________________
Where courage, motivation and ignorance meet, a persistent idiot awakens.

For all HWBOT community related questions, contact Christian Ney or Websmile. For any other questions, contact me at pieter@hwbot.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Unread 08-18-2016
eightyeightkeys eightyeightkeys is offline
kitchen robot
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
eightyeightkeys
Default Re: Asus ROGGL752 VW-i76700HQ-Shows Active Cores -2 ?

I hope this is my link Massman :
XTU - eightyeightkeys - Core i7 6700HQ

A few of other things are jumping out at me that make me wonder if a feature or control panel might be OFF where it should be ON :

Turbo Overclocking : False (shouldn't this be True ?)
Intel Turbo Boost : False (as well, shouldn't this be True ?)
Intel Speed Shift : True (I guess this is where it's supposed to be)
Max Processor speed : 3.1GHZ (according to the Asus ads/specs, this should be 3.5GHz, shouldn't it ? It says 2.6GhZ Turbo boost up to 3.5GHz)

I've attached a screen shot of my System Spec Page from the XTU application. Any help would be appreciated.
Attached Images
File Type: png XTU-System Spec.png (38.9 KB, 20 views)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Unread 08-18-2016
Massman's Avatar
Massman Massman is offline
In the distance
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Taipei
Posts: 22,481
Thanks: 761
Thanked 1,047 Times in 522 Posts
Massman has a spectacular aura aboutMassman has a spectacular aura aboutMassman has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via MSN to Massman
Default Re: Asus ROGGL752 VW-i76700HQ-Shows Active Cores -2 ?

Hm, it shows 4 active cores in the submission link and the score is also in line with expectations.

It's possible it shows 2 active cores in the XTU monitoring as the benchmark workload is ramping up. What do you see in task manager during the benchmark?
__________________
Where courage, motivation and ignorance meet, a persistent idiot awakens.

For all HWBOT community related questions, contact Christian Ney or Websmile. For any other questions, contact me at pieter@hwbot.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Unread 08-20-2016
eightyeightkeys eightyeightkeys is offline
kitchen robot
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
eightyeightkeys
Default Re: Asus ROGGL752 VW-i76700HQ-Shows Active Cores -2 ?

Hello Massman :
The Task manager shows all CPU Cores working, however, even during the entire XTU benchmark the Lower Monitoring windows never changes from "Active Cores -2" Screen Pic Attached.
Also attached is a screen pic of the Task Manager Overview which was captured during the XTU Benchmark. The CPU never budges off of 2.60GHz ? Is it not supposed to "Speed Step"/Turbo Boost up to it's maximum performance of 3.5GHz.
Thanks Massman
Attached Images
File Type: png XTU-Lower Benchmark Window.png (6.6 KB, 15 views)
File Type: png Task Manager-Shows-2.59GHz.png (7.0 KB, 18 views)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Unread 08-20-2016
Massman's Avatar
Massman Massman is offline
In the distance
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Taipei
Posts: 22,481
Thanks: 761
Thanked 1,047 Times in 522 Posts
Massman has a spectacular aura aboutMassman has a spectacular aura aboutMassman has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via MSN to Massman
Default Re: Asus ROGGL752 VW-i76700HQ-Shows Active Cores -2 ?

That is strange indeed. Last question: what version of XTU are you using?
__________________
Where courage, motivation and ignorance meet, a persistent idiot awakens.

For all HWBOT community related questions, contact Christian Ney or Websmile. For any other questions, contact me at pieter@hwbot.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Unread 08-20-2016
eightyeightkeys eightyeightkeys is offline
kitchen robot
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
eightyeightkeys
Default Re: Asus ROGGL752 VW-i76700HQ-Shows Active Cores -2 ?

It looks like 6.1.2.8
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Unread 08-20-2016
Massman's Avatar
Massman Massman is offline
In the distance
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Taipei
Posts: 22,481
Thanks: 761
Thanked 1,047 Times in 522 Posts
Massman has a spectacular aura aboutMassman has a spectacular aura aboutMassman has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via MSN to Massman
Default Re: Asus ROGGL752 VW-i76700HQ-Shows Active Cores -2 ?

Alright, I'll have a look at the changelogs.

At IDF I saw version v6.3 on display so maybe the next version will fix this.
__________________
Where courage, motivation and ignorance meet, a persistent idiot awakens.

For all HWBOT community related questions, contact Christian Ney or Websmile. For any other questions, contact me at pieter@hwbot.org.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Unread 08-22-2016
eightyeightkeys eightyeightkeys is offline
kitchen robot
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
eightyeightkeys
Default Re: Asus ROGGL752 VW-i76700HQ-Shows Active Cores -2 ?

btw, why would my i76700HQ not Turbo Boost past 3.1GHz ?

I've watched the task Manager on extremely CPU intensive audio mixes where the CPU is "overloaded" in Cubase while the Task manager WILL NOT move beyond 3.08GHZ.

Is there a Windows setting which governs this ? The BIOS on my laptop is useless.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Unread 08-22-2016
Massman's Avatar
Massman Massman is offline
In the distance
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Taipei
Posts: 22,481
Thanks: 761
Thanked 1,047 Times in 522 Posts
Massman has a spectacular aura aboutMassman has a spectacular aura aboutMassman has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via MSN to Massman
Default Re: Asus ROGGL752 VW-i76700HQ-Shows Active Cores -2 ?

Is battery usage set to performance mode?
__________________
Where courage, motivation and ignorance meet, a persistent idiot awakens.

For all HWBOT community related questions, contact Christian Ney or Websmile. For any other questions, contact me at pieter@hwbot.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inside the Titan Supercomputer: 299K AMD x86 Cores and 18.6K NVIDIA GPU Cores hwbotrss Tech News RSS 0 10-31-2012 07:40
Bug found on many new drivers while using SLi on old VGAs on Z77 , SLI GPUZ not showing correctly , it shows SLI disable but SLI its running and active. chispy General hardware discussion 15 10-13-2012 14:43
Almost High-End: Asus GTX 560 Ti 448 Cores DirectCU II Graphics Card Review hwbotrss Tech News RSS 0 03-06-2012 19:41
ASUS GeForce GTX 560 Ti 448 Cores Direct CU II 1280 MB @ techPowerUp hwbotrss Tech News RSS 0 11-30-2011 08:10


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright HWBOT 2004 - 2015
watch GOTS0701 usa news today