Go Back   HWBOT forum > > >

Trinity / Piledriver / Richland OC Holy Trinity, Magnificent Piledriver - this is your time! (and Richland too)


User Tag List

Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31  
Unread 06-04-2013
The Stilt The Stilt is offline
Legend
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Location: Finland
Posts: 102
Thanks: 1
Thanked 13 Times in 7 Posts
The Stilt
Default

No need for the videos, I never thought you would be cheating intentionally.

Found one of the reasons why my time was so slow.
On XP you'll just never ever - ever never disable the "Luna" theme.
It is over four seconds faster than the Classic theme. A quite "nice" glitch.

Still, I am atleast five seconds slower than I should be.
The DRAM/NB timings have been tweaked as far as they go, the adjustment range has been literally exhausted. Cannot go any tighter.

Still need to check something.
I noticed that Gigabyte does not enable the "CLK Mux".
I certainly hope this is not done on purpose, yet I would not be too surprised...

http://www.hwbot.org/submission/2386...in_14sec_718ms

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Unread 06-04-2013
flanker's Avatar
flanker flanker is online now
transformer
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: CZECH REPUBLIC
Posts: 667
Thanks: 155
Thanked 101 Times in 66 Posts
flanker is on a distinguished road
Default

2700+ unlock at air, uffff! Whats voltage for APUNB?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Unread 06-04-2013
The Stilt The Stilt is offline
Legend
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Location: Finland
Posts: 102
Thanks: 1
Thanked 13 Times in 7 Posts
The Stilt
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flanker View Post
2700+ unlock at air, uffff! Whats voltage for APUNB?
1.4V, just outside the "kill zone"
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Unread 06-04-2013
I.nfraR.ed I.nfraR.ed is offline
robot overlord
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 1,300
Thanks: 74
Thanked 138 Times in 71 Posts
I.nfraR.ed
Default

Is the limit still the same on LN2? I've never used more than 1.4V on LN2, because it didn't seem to help with NCLK.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Unread 06-04-2013
The Stilt The Stilt is offline
Legend
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Location: Finland
Posts: 102
Thanks: 1
Thanked 13 Times in 7 Posts
The Stilt
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by I.nfraR.ed View Post
Is the limit still the same on LN2? I've never used more than 1.4V on LN2, because it didn't seem to help with NCLK.
On LN2 you can do 1.6 - 1.65V, depending on the leakage.
At 1.7V or beyond the NB gets damaged (GPU first then the rest of it).

Any chance you could upload the F3I bios for UP4?
I have all of the other alphabets besides that.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Unread 06-04-2013
I.nfraR.ed I.nfraR.ed is offline
robot overlord
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 1,300
Thanks: 74
Thanked 138 Times in 71 Posts
I.nfraR.ed
Default

Yes, here it is: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/...2/2A85XUP4.F3i
I have it from the last CountryCup. Noticed other guys were running that version, but we couldn't find it anywhere, so I asked Massman and he was nice to share it.
Honestly I didn't see any difference in performance.

By the way, I don't even know what is CLK Mux and what it is related with

Last edited by I.nfraR.ed; 06-04-2013 at 18:56.
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Unread 06-04-2013
The Stilt The Stilt is offline
Legend
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Location: Finland
Posts: 102
Thanks: 1
Thanked 13 Times in 7 Posts
The Stilt
Default

Thanks for the bios.
There is no difference in SuperPI performance between F2A85-V PRO and F2A85X-UP4, the times were within the margin of error.

The CLK Mux feature is PLL related.
There are two PLLs on F2A85-V PRO and F2A85X-UP4 which can be used to generate the BCLK frequency.
One is located inside the FCH (Internal PLL) and the second one is the external located between the PCI-E slots.

Even the F2A85X-UP4 features an external digital PLL, for some reason Gigabyte does not use it for BCLK until the adjustment range of the internal PLL has been exhausted (136MHz BCLK). I've asked the reason for this but they never gave me any answer.

Asus F2A85-V PRO never uses the internal PLL for the BCLK, only the external.

The CLK Mux controls the different frequencies.
Without it enabled the all of the clocks are tied to BCLK.
When enabled the clocks are separated by the mux control.
The PCI-E frequency stays at 100MHz even when the BCLK is raised.

I could not test the Gigabyte board above 108MHz BCLK as the board flips out after that when AHCI is enabled.
No such issues on Asus.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Unread 06-05-2013
I.nfraR.ed I.nfraR.ed is offline
robot overlord
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 1,300
Thanks: 74
Thanked 138 Times in 71 Posts
I.nfraR.ed
Default

Interesting information, thanks.
Yes, I have that issue with UP4. I was able to load Win7 at 111MHz bclk no problem, but with XP @ AHCI I should go down to 105 or so, then raise the bclk from Windows. Had to do the same with Win7 on IDE mode.
So in fact PCI-E frequency is equal to BCLK when Mux not enabled (Gigabyte case)? I've used 120+ BCLK in the past, but don't remeber what sata mode and it was definitely a lower mem divider.

Last edited by I.nfraR.ed; 06-05-2013 at 08:11.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Unread 06-08-2013
Massman's Avatar
Massman Massman is offline
In the distance
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Taipei
Posts: 22,478
Thanks: 760
Thanked 1,047 Times in 522 Posts
Massman has a spectacular aura aboutMassman has a spectacular aura aboutMassman has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via MSN to Massman
Default

Updated the thread and added Richland core to the database.
__________________
Where courage, motivation and ignorance meet, a persistent idiot awakens.

For all HWBOT community related questions, contact Christian Ney or Websmile. For any other questions, contact me at pieter@hwbot.org.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Unread 06-15-2013
flanker's Avatar
flanker flanker is online now
transformer
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: CZECH REPUBLIC
Posts: 667
Thanks: 155
Thanked 101 Times in 66 Posts
flanker is on a distinguished road
Default

Have someone explanation, why Zambezi core is in superpi better than Piledriver core? If in all others is much worse than Piledriver...
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright HWBOT 2004 - 2015
watch GOTS0701 usa news today