Go Back   HWBOT forum > News > HWBOT Frontpage News

HWBOT Frontpage News Official HWBOT articles and frontpage news

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes

PCMark 7 To Arrive on Thursday

Hey, at least we're not the only ones postponing releases!

Originally planned for May 3 release, Futuremark delayed the long awaited system benchmark to this Thursday, May 12, 2011. According to Oliver "Ollie" Baltuch, president of Futuremark Corporation, the company decided to delay the launch due to last-minute fixes and tweaks in order to ensure stability of performance results.

Given that the last PCMark worked on Windows Vista alone (runs on Windows 7 too), don't be too surprised to hear that the only OS that can run PCMark 7 is - Microsoft Windows 7, of course. Futuremark decided for such move in order to ensure complete system optimization across the board - regardless of what hardware you run, Windows 7 should yield apples-to-apples results.

...


May 10, 2011 - article - brightsideofnews.com
  #1  
Old 05-10-2011
Leeghoofd Leeghoofd is offline
Banned by Mafio
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3,715
Leeghoofd is a jewel in the roughLeeghoofd is a jewel in the roughLeeghoofd is a jewel in the roughLeeghoofd is a jewel in the rough
Default PCMark 7 To Arrive on Thursday

let's hope a little less storage dependant output... the one with the most Acards, RAID controller and SSD's wins.........
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-12-2011
FM_Jarnis FM_Jarnis is offline
robo cop
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: FINLAND
Posts: 234
FM_Jarnis
Default

Mirrors are already getting the file online (they were authorized to do so at 11AM GMT, 45min ago) and official pages should go live in about 25 minutes. So... happy benchmarking
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-12-2011
George_o/c George_o/c is offline
robo cop
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Greece
Posts: 425
George_o/c
Default

First test run on my laptop Looks good so far, but it takes like 20 minutes to finish because each test is ran 3 times and then the final score test derrives from the average of these three... I downloaded it from techpowerup http://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/1998/mirrors.php

http://3dmark.com/pcm7/1975
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-12-2011
BenchZowner's Avatar
BenchZowner BenchZowner is offline
transformer
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Signal Hill, California
Posts: 797
BenchZowner
Send a message via ICQ to BenchZowner Send a message via AIM to BenchZowner Send a message via MSN to BenchZowner Send a message via Skype™ to BenchZowner
Default

AMD Athlon II X3 450 ( 3.2GHz ) + 4GB DDR3-1600 + Radeon HD5850 1GB + OCZ Vertex 2 60GB = 3160

AMD Athlon II X3 450 @ 3.9GHz + 4GB DDR3-1600 + Radeon HD5850 1GB @ 825MHz/1250MHz + OCZ Vertex 2 60GB = 3449

Runtime video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fs20Bg4Mjb8
__________________
OC for a cause, WCG

Last edited by BenchZowner; 05-12-2011 at 15:19.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-12-2011
El Gappo's Avatar
El Gappo El Gappo is offline
robo cop
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: BRAZIL
Posts: 489
El Gappo
Default

Running 3 times will make it real easy to spot bugged runs. No more "oh my video encoding is bugged wot is dis power toy O.o"
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-12-2011
Chiller's Avatar
Chiller Chiller is offline
transformer
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: BELGIUM
Posts: 589
Chiller
Send a message via MSN to Chiller
Default

i'm running it right now to.

Done

Score 3288

subscores :

__________________
I hate Overclockers that don't follow the rules and doing hardware sharing or other cheats.

Last edited by Chiller; 05-12-2011 at 17:32.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-13-2011
Tiltevros Tiltevros is offline
maintenance bot
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: GREECE
Posts: 39
Tiltevros
Default

again only 4-6 cores are testing.... why we the pcmark7 doesnt use all cores in case of a 16 or 24 thread pc??
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-13-2011
Chiller's Avatar
Chiller Chiller is offline
transformer
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: BELGIUM
Posts: 589
Chiller
Send a message via MSN to Chiller
Default

you would expect that it uses more then 4-6 cores because it's the newest version.

Even 3Dmark Vantage uses all cores for cpu tests.

i'm surprised about it that it didn't uses all cores

+1 3Dmark Vantage
-1 Pcmark7
__________________
I hate Overclockers that don't follow the rules and doing hardware sharing or other cheats.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-13-2011
Tiltevros Tiltevros is offline
maintenance bot
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: GREECE
Posts: 39
Tiltevros
Default

pcmark vantage used uptoo 24 cpus in gaming....
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-13-2011
Massman's Avatar
Massman Massman is offline
In the distance
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Taipei
Posts: 22,577
Massman has a spectacular aura aboutMassman has a spectacular aura aboutMassman has a spectacular aura about
Send a message via MSN to Massman
Default

Interesting.

Futuremark made the same call in the 3DMark11 benchmark: scaling goes up from 1 to ~ 6 cores but after that it doesn't scale that much anymore. I guess hardware or game developpers told them they won't be using more than 6 cores in the next couple of years.

__________________
Where courage, motivation and ignorance meet, a persistent idiot awakens.

For all HWBOT community related questions, contact Christian Ney or Websmile. For any other questions, contact me at pieter@hwbot.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright HWBOT 2004 - 2015