Go Back   hwbot.org > News > HWBOT Frontpage News

HWBOT Frontpage News Official HWBOT articles and frontpage news

Reply
 
Thread Tools

Fix Available For Incompatibility Between Corsair AX760i/AX860i and GIGABYTE Z87X-OC (Force)

In a forum post over at OCAU, Dino from GIGABYTE has posted a fix for the incompatibility issues concerning Corsair PSUs AX760i/AX860i and GIGABYTE Z87X-OC/OC Force. The issue typically presents itself as failure to boot up properly, or in rare cases sudden shutdown. According to Dino, both power supplies and boards conform to Intel 8 series design specifications. It appears to be a signaling compatibility issue between the motherboard and power supply that is causing booting issues. GIGABYTE has provided information on a confirmed fix. The fix involves the removal of a resistor that controls the OC Ignition sensor for "PSU On signal". What's more, GIGABYTE offers a service to apply the fix via RMA.

Although the fix would imply the OC or OC Force motherboard is at fault here; it is still unclear which part is causing this issue. Neither Corsair nor GIGABYTE is officially commenting on the subject. This issue seems to occur only with the mainstream AX line-up; the Corsair AX1200i power supply is fully compatible with both motherboards. So far, there has been no report of other brands or product lines with similar incompatibility issues.

Fix for Z87X-OC (left), and fix for Z87X-OC Force (right)


Sep 16, 2013 - article - forums.overclockers.com.au
  #21  
Old 10-12-2013, 09:19
dinos22's Avatar
dinos22 dinos22 is offline
Kind heart
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Apsurdistan
Posts: 1,847
Default

Boards that are currently sold in channel are 1.0 (4) which has a fix for corsair psus guys!
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 10-12-2013, 12:22
Leeghoofd Leeghoofd is online now
Banned by Mafio
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 2,562
Default

my corsair psu also has issues sometimes with the ASRock board...
__________________
Proud to be a warehouse OCer you don't like it ? Too bad 4 you...
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 10-12-2013, 12:40
Xtreme Addict's Avatar
Xtreme Addict Xtreme Addict is online now
robot overlord
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: POLAND
Posts: 1,416
Send a message via Skype™ to Xtreme Addict
Default

Good to hear Dino!
__________________
ASUS Polish Overclocking Championship 2010 #1st
MSI MOA 2012 EMEA - #1st
MSI MOA 2012 WW FINALS - #7th
ASUS Open Overclocking Cup AOOC 2012 - #1st
MSI MOA 2013 EMEA Qualifier - #2nd
ASUS Open Overclocking Cup AOOC 2013 - #3rd
MSI MOA 2013 WW FINALS - #3rd
Galaxy GOOC 2013 Finals - #12th
HyperX OC Takeover HOT Final CES 2014 - #1st
G.skill OC World Cup 2014 - #3rd
HyperX OC Takeover HOT 2014 Computex - #1st
Intel OC Challenge Computex 2014 - #1st
MSI MOA 2014 WW Finals - #12th
ASUS Open Overclocking Cup AOOC 2014 -#2nd
Galaxy GOOC 2014 Finals -#4th
HyperX OC Takeover HOT Final CES 2015 - #1st
G.skill OC World Cup 2015 - #?
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 10-13-2013, 08:40
Jimba Jimba is offline
robo cop
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: AUSTRALIA
Posts: 341
Default

I wonder if this could be caused by the softwave on the new models?

This doesnt impact the AX1200 (non i) does it?
__________________
WTB: Corsair GTX4 and 8

Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 04-30-2014, 21:23
_Vetal_ _Vetal_ is offline
kitchen robot
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Russian Federation
Posts: 1
Default

omg, I waste several weeks with this issue and my AX760i
I changed 3 motherboards - Asus Z87-Pro, ASRock Z87 Extreme 6 and only after with MSI Z87-G45 GAMING this issue happened too..I decide to check PSU. And with my old Enermax Modu 82+ all fine(without power off, restart, cycle restart with red led etc..)!!!

Something has changed in that time?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 05-27-2015, 02:40
nathanjames001 nathanjames001 is offline
kitchen robot
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1
Default Old but in need of help.

I only just got round to fitting my ax860i that I bought 12 months ago and had this problem that it would not turn on (works on my Intel s5500BC). I googled and instantly found this site with the raised issue however was unsure what the little (4) meant in the below quote.
I know my board is revision 1 but was unsure if this was the same as the mentioned ones with the implemented fix. It would appear not due to the way it is not starting up without pressing the OC Ignition switch but I could be wrong.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dinos22 View Post
Boards that are currently sold in channel are 1.0 (4) which has a fix for corsair psus guys!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 05-29-2015, 00:51
dinos22's Avatar
dinos22 dinos22 is offline
Kind heart
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Apsurdistan
Posts: 1,847
Default

4 is a version number of the PCB found in another corner towards PCH
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright COLARDYN IT GCV 2004 - 2013