Go Back   hwbot.org > Overclocking & benchmarking > Benchmark software

Benchmark software Discuss benchmarking software.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 10-12-2013, 23:39
trodas's Avatar
trodas trodas is offline
robo cop
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 231
Send a message via ICQ to trodas Send a message via AIM to trodas Send a message via MSN to trodas Send a message via Skype™ to trodas
Question HWbot wPrime bug? Athlon faster that AXP!

I wonder, if anyone can explain me this - wPrime 32M test on the very same hardware - a ancient MSI 6340 mobo, same ram settings, same FSB, same everything: except for a CPUs!

Athlon 900MHz: 182sec

Athlon XP 1100MHz: 228 sec


...now could anyone explain me, how 200MHz slower CPU with half the cache could be 46sec faster?! WTF!


http://hwbot.org/submission/2436983_...9_182sec_972ms

Barton core suxx so much, compared to Thunderbird A4 core or wPrime have probem with Barton CPU's, killing their score somehow?!



...

Similary weird is the MaxxMem score, even there is the difference minimal:

Athlon 900MHz: 17.1 Marks

Athlon XP 1100MHz: 16.4 Marks




Lack of detection from the mainboard cannot (IMHO) answer this, not to mention the slow-down is minimal, not 46sec more on 182sec score...!
__________________
"It is dangerous to be right in matters on which the established authorities are wrong." - Voltaire
...just keep folding, just keep folding... my config - my caps

Last edited by trodas; 10-25-2013 at 11:22. Reason: fixed typo
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-13-2013, 01:41
trodas's Avatar
trodas trodas is offline
robo cop
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 231
Send a message via ICQ to trodas Send a message via AIM to trodas Send a message via MSN to trodas Send a message via Skype™ to trodas
Default

wPrime 1024M

Athlon 900MHz: 5867.795 sec

Athlon XP 1100MHz: 7321.237 sec
__________________
"It is dangerous to be right in matters on which the established authorities are wrong." - Voltaire
...just keep folding, just keep folding... my config - my caps
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-13-2013, 03:09
Turrican's Avatar
Turrican Turrican is offline
HWBOT Staff
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Austria
Posts: 8,030
Blog Entries: 8
Default

the kt133 chipset doesn't offically support barton cpus. so no wonder some boards may have problems with those cpus.
your cpu is even recognized as "unknown cpu type".

i would better use a prober board instead of this crappy one.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-13-2013, 16:51
Massman's Avatar
Massman Massman is offline
Abhorrently evil braindead kind-hearted money-driven child-hating short-sighted hardware-sharing cheating
macho nacho supreme discriminating clueless idiot boy genius with sense of humor
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Waregem, Belgium
Posts: 18,247
Send a message via MSN to Massman
Default

Moved to benchmark software
__________________
Where courage, motivation and ignorance meet, a persistent idiot awakens.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-13-2013, 19:35
trodas's Avatar
trodas trodas is offline
robo cop
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 231
Send a message via ICQ to trodas Send a message via AIM to trodas Send a message via MSN to trodas Send a message via Skype™ to trodas
Wink

Turrican - no question that the board is crappy thing Yet when the CPU obviously work, then I have no idea why the results should differ so much. It just feels weird.
It is like - when the CPU is unknown, then we better slow the results down

I know it is probably not like that, but... it just make me think, if the VIA C3 was not so slow, just because it is "unknown CPU". (not to the present board at the time, tough)

Clearly I can only hope that someone can inject the AXP cpu support into the bios to get somewhat more respectable scores with AXP cpu. This is just nuts:



Also it is interesting that SuperPi do show a speed up on the AXP, unlike wPrime. Maybe it use other instructions/way to access mainboard? Less dependent on the ram access?
__________________
"It is dangerous to be right in matters on which the established authorities are wrong." - Voltaire
...just keep folding, just keep folding... my config - my caps
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-14-2013, 02:18
ObscureParadox's Avatar
ObscureParadox ObscureParadox is offline
robo cop
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 253
Default

Over here the price of a NF7-S really isn't that much, about £30 if you are lucky and I don't really know what that is in your currency.

I'm sure that would solve your problems and then boost your scores a little more to make you more competitive
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-14-2013, 06:47
Antinomy Antinomy is offline
robot overlord
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vladivostok, Russia
Posts: 1,083
Send a message via Skype™ to Antinomy
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trodas View Post
Also it is interesting that SuperPi do show a speed up on the AXP, unlike wPrime. Maybe it use other instructions/way to access mainboard? Less dependent on the ram access?
I might know the answer. wPrime greatly improves from SSE making a Thoroughbred rip a Thunderbird more than 50% IIRC. But your board might not initialize SSE on Barton (yes, SSE on A-XP was an optional feature that required enabling by BIOS).

You can run WCPUID to check whether SSE is enabled (CPU-Z might only show that it's supported by CPU, not actually working). And is you find WCPUID with plugins, there's a plugin to enable SSE on A-XP.

Try to turn it on and check again.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoF View Post
nono it's DFI - they just kicked LanParty but now there will be Sham-Party
Instead of UV-glowing PCI-E slots they will soon have slots glowing under the dust of LN2 mwhahahahaha....
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-14-2013, 16:21
trodas's Avatar
trodas trodas is offline
robo cop
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 231
Send a message via ICQ to trodas Send a message via AIM to trodas Send a message via MSN to trodas Send a message via Skype™ to trodas
Default

ObscureParadox - I did not want and different board, and Abit NF7-S is not actually worth that much It is not worth a damn, because it is too old... I was just playing with this mobo. That it is.


Antinomy - this SSE thing makes some sense! I would like to see that if the SSE is not used, then still the Barton beat Thunderbird, but maybe disabling it off is not good at all and... Yep! I definitively try this.
Now I battling with the Sapphire, but when I got tired of the terrible bios issues with the PI-A9RX480, then I take a look at this and report back...
__________________
"It is dangerous to be right in matters on which the established authorities are wrong." - Voltaire
...just keep folding, just keep folding... my config - my caps
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-15-2013, 12:15
trodas's Avatar
trodas trodas is offline
robo cop
 
Join Date: Jan 1970
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 231
Send a message via ICQ to trodas Send a message via AIM to trodas Send a message via MSN to trodas Send a message via Skype™ to trodas
Red face

Damn, no, that is not it. The SSE seems to be enabled by default after start:



And only one thing that is not enabled is the "System Call Extension" (what is this, anyway?) and re-enabling did not solve anything. Still same slow speed.

So I read there:
http://devforums.amd.com/forum/messa...VIEWTMP=Linear
That maybe a Windows need to be reinstalled to utilize the SSE. Hmmm. Tried that now and same results. Still slow.

I got to 226 sec in wPrime 32M, but still a 200MHz slower Athlon with half the L2 cache do it at 182sec... Maybe some of the chipset calls between KT133 and the CPU is up to the blame? Also MaxxMem did not speed up, still 16.4 Marks, while Athlon does 17.1 ...
__________________
"It is dangerous to be right in matters on which the established authorities are wrong." - Voltaire
...just keep folding, just keep folding... my config - my caps
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright COLARDYN IT GCV 2004 - 2013